Well, look at that little molehill.

As usual, I was making a mountain out of a molehill. The Lupron shot was no big deal, I barely even felt it. Possibly in part because my husband woke me up at 5:30 am to administer it, and I had barely fallen asleep from my ‘middle-of-the-night stay awake and panic about how bad the needle was going to be’ session. Maybe sheer exhaustion was the key! But in truth, it just wasn’t bad.

My husband even jokingly (I think?!) commented that it was less fun than anticipated, because there was no reaction on my part when he gave me the needle. There had been some nerves on his part as well, but thankfully these days you can google anything … including videos on administering intramuscular injections.

Aside from the needle itself, I had been worried about the potential side effects, including borderline psychopathic rage, which I had heard about from my surro sisters. I am happy to report that I have had very minimal side effects. And that none of them were negative. Yippeeeee!! I’m pretty sure my family was also doing a happy dance about this.

I did sleep really well the first week, none of my usual staying up late and waking in the middle of the night to contemplate life in general. I was falling asleep early and sleeping mostly right through the night. The sleep effect is maybe wearing off a bit now. As for my moods – they actually felt more level, instead of the opposite!

Apparently, what I needed all these years was just a shot in the ass. Who knew?

Leave a Reply

