Transfer Day

We got up really early on Monday morning, to make the drive into the city for the transfer.

Shortly after leaving the house, my IM checked the radio and found out that the main thoroughfare into Toronto was closed down, due to a cube truck catching on fire. We were able to turn around and take an alternate route, while listening to the whole saga on the radio on our drive. Can you imagine two & a half hours worth of morning rush hour traffic back up in a city that size? And then, to top it off, they had to put the fire out, right? Which naturally meant the whole road then became covered in ice, after hosing down the fire in minus-whatever type weather. Then they had to hunt down a salt truck, and on and on it went!

Our drive in was much less dramatic, though still somewhat anxious because we had to take the long way, and we had an appointment to make.

It was just IM and I, IF having decided that this part of it was a “girl thing”. We arrived at the clinic and after filling out the forms, I was ushered into a back room for the acupuncture treatment that IM had arranged. For the record, I adore acupuncture, and have had a lot of success with it for other treatments. Not least of which, I credit it with turning my daughter around (my third pregnancy) when she was sitting breech very close to her due date.

I got to lay like a pincushion for about half an hour, while listening to a guided meditation on headphones. It was very relaxing and I moved into the transfer room feeling quite calm and centred.

I don’t know about you other ladies, but inevitably (for me) at my “lady doctor” appointments, the doctor always has to tell me to scoot closer to the end of the table. Natural reluctance, I suppose! So as per usual, I got the old “scoot your bum forward… a little more … just a little more”. Until I had that feeling like I was about to fall off the table, at which point I asked if I was close enough? And the doctor replied “Haven’t you heard? You can never be too rich, too thin or too close to your gynaecologist!” Fantastic ice breaker, all things considered.

The embryos had thawed out beautifully, there were two of them, both three day embryos. Embryos are either 3-dayers or 5-dayers, they will let them develop in the Petri dish (at least I assume it’s a Petri dish!) until 3 days, at which point, if they aren’t doing as well as hoped, they freeze them. If they are doing well, they let them continue to 5 days. Naturally, 5-dayers give you a better chance to have a successful transfer. But our 3-dayers were grade 1 (meaning minimal fissures occurred while thawing out), 9 cell embryos. They need to be between 6 and 10 cells to be viable, so we were doing pretty well!

The transfer itself was uneventful, though you do get to watch it via ultrasound which was kind of nice! There’s this flash when they transfer them, like a little spot of light, which somehow feels hopeful. Then the doctor whipped up my gown and talked to my stomach (making me somewhat self conscious, and simultaneously happy that IF had decided to skip the procedure) and sang “Happy” by Pharrell Williams

Back to the other room, and another half hour of acupuncture/ guided meditation. At which point, I was so relaxed I was practically a puddle.

And with the advice from the doctor – for instance: no lifting, rest for the remainder of the day, pee like a lady not a racehorse… off we went.

20140403-113656.jpg

Leave a Reply

