It’s my blog …

It was ever so gently pointed out to me today that my blog has been fairly silent lately.  Things have been fairly quiet on the surrogacy front.  The last couple days it finally looks like we are getting some movement on the contract and psych evaluation.  I am honestly getting sick of the very words “contract” and “psych evaluation”.  I guess I am impatient and these seem to be the last two stumbling blocks between now and transfer.  

My IPs are still trying to line things up with their semi-retired therapist who apparently is completely unconcerned with returning any emails or phone calls.  The contract was fairly good on the first draft, so I made a couple suggestions and sent it back for their review.  

I guess my hesitation in blogging is that everything right now is way more focused on getting my health under control than surrogacy.  Of course, the two are very much linked.  But I get all up in my own head and think that someone reading this is going to be thinking I should be staying on topic, or some such thing.  Like who?  The Blogging Police??

Therefore the decision this evening is: it’s my blog, and I’ll blog if I want to {obviously and blatantly stolen from that old song.}

Thanks to my severely limited diet being used to get my symptoms under control – psoriasis and psoriatic arthritis, if you are new here – I am eating like some sort of health nut.  I’ve never eaten this well in my entire life.  It’s also fuelled an interest in learning more about the healing powers of food, and the power that food has over our bodies.  Having my middle child experiencing some digestive issues at the same time as I am going through this has intensified that desire to learn.  Netflix … source of hours of commercial-free TV series joy … also has a number of documentaries that I’ve watched on food now.  Between that and Google … well I figure my being aware that I am becoming somewhat fixated and nutty about the subject should count for something.

My naturopath is operating on the theory that I have low stomach acid, and possibly some Candida overgrowth at this point.  We are working on dealing with all that in a way that doesn’t interfere with having the transfer done in August {fingers crossed, if we get our ducks in a row in time}.  

Throughout this journey to date, I am certainly becoming better acquainted with my body, though not necessarily always in ways that I expected.  

And as it turns out, I actually like vegetables. 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erin
    Aug 17, 2013 @ 06:08:51

    I look forward to hearing about your surrogacy journey as it progresses. But no pressure! It’s most definitely your blog, and you need to write when it feels right. Not because you feel obliged to…
    xo

    Reply

    • surrogal
      Aug 25, 2013 @ 16:03:17

      Thanks Erin! I’m finding that it’s a matter of remembering to do it, and tranferring all those posts in my head onto the computer 🙂 It feels right to be writing though, so I’m going to endeavour to make it more regular again! xo

      Reply

Leave a Reply

