Cleansing

“You’re easy!” 

Not usually flattering words, but since it was coming from the Naturopath, I let it pass.

This was her response when she said “Will you do a cleanse?”  and I said “Sure!”.  She looked at me a little sideways (I’m sure she wasn’t expecting enthusiasm as a response to that question) and outlined what my next weeks meals would look like.  Actually, make that “meals”.  Because actual meals – without the quotation marks – might be overstating it.

Two days of fruits, veggies and 2 protein bars.  Three days of protein shakes (a special “medical food” to help with inflammation) and one cooked green veggie in the evening.  Two more days of fruits, veggies and 2 protein bars.  Me “Sure!”  (insert incredulous look from ND – I’m guessing she usually encounters some resistance).

I know, you are dying to know what a “medical food” shake is like!  Let me clarify that “medical food” doesn’t have any redeeming taste or appearance characteristics, and if one more person asks me if I am drinking a mustard sauce … well, it may be time to brown bag it and let people assume I am one of those housewives.  (I’ll throw on some leopard print and smear my lipstick for effect.)

So I am on day 4 overall, day 2 of the shakes.  Mmmm.  Last nights dinner was a bowl of steamed broccoli.  

The week prior, I had cut out dairy, wheat, gluten, eggs, sugar, etc.  I wake up in the morning and I can move my hands, pretty much pain-free!  It’s feeling pretty worth it right now (psoriasis also seems to be clearing up).  Not to mention, my jeans feel a little less snug *insert happy dance*.  

I have to think that this is making my body a more welcoming place for the little embies they want me to grow.  I struggle with “willpower” to keep up a restrictive diet, so I am focusing on the positive aspects that make me want to keep going 🙂

(Oh … and I have to do dry brushing and warm salt baths — I actually highly recommend this as a pre-bed routine!  Super relaxing.)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vic
    Jun 14, 2013 @ 17:49:59

    I have always found you to be a pillar of strength when it comes to this sort of thing; that’s why you’re always my go-to when I have questions! I can’t wait to hear how you feel when the cleanse is over and I’d love to hear more about how easy or hard is it to find food and/or recipes that fit your dietary needs and tastes.

    Reply

    • surrogal
      Jun 14, 2013 @ 20:05:35

      I woke up this morning, and the psoriasis was visibly less on my arms! Even T looked and said “Mom, you’re getting better!!” So that gives me some incentive to keep at it. I’ll keep you informed as I transition back into actual food 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

